• slide
  • slide
  • slide

Rogers receives Joy in Medicine designation

10/17/23 12:00:pm

Rogers is being recognized by the American Medical Association’s Joy in Medicine™ Health System Recognition Program, which honors health systems across the United States for their efforts to improve physician satisfaction and reduce burnout.

To be considered for this award, organizations must meet criteria in five of six outlined categories: assessment, commitment, efficiency of practice environment, teamwork, leadership, and support. This team was able to meet criteria in all six of these categories. A total of 72 organizations are being recognized this year, showing Rogers is among an elite group in our dedication to the well-being of our providers. This achievement is the culmination of more than a year of work by our Practice Management value stream under the leadership of Stephanie Eken, MD, chief medical officer, and Dr. Christopher Lowden, MD, senior medical director of medical staff well-being, and with support from Cindy Meyer, president and CEO.

“We believe we are the first behavioral health organization to reach this status in the Joy in Medicine initiative. We know this will ultimately lead to better care for our patients, better quality of life for our team and give us a competitive advantage in recruiting and retaining high caliber physicians,” says Dr. Eken.

“Health organizations that have earned recognition from the AMA’s Joy in Medicine Health System Recognition Program are leading a national movement that has declared the well-being of health professionals to be an essential element for providing high-quality care to patients, families, and communities,” said AMA President Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H. “Each Joy in Medicine recognized organization is distinguished as among the nation’s best at creating a culture of wellness that makes a difference in the lives of clinical care teams.”

Rogers’ recognition is at the Bronze level this year, we plan to apply for Silver status next year. The team will prioritize improvements over time that we hope will ultimately take us to the Gold designation.

Since its inception in 2019, the Joy in Medicine™ Health System Recognition Program has recognized more than 100 organizations across the country. In 2023, a total of 72 health systems nationwide earned recognition with documented efforts to reduce system-level drivers of work-related burnout and demonstrated competencies in commitment, assessment, leadership, efficiency of practice environment, teamwork, and support.

Learn more about the AMA Joy in Medicine™ Health System Recognition Program at ama-assn.org/joyinmedicine.

Posted in

Related articles