• slide
  • slide
  • slide

Oconomowoc nurse is Rogers’ newest DAISY Award winner

08/18/23 12:00:pm
  • slide
  • slide

Mary Beth Alteri, a registered nurse in Oconomowoc, received Rogers’ DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses. Click the video below to watch the August 16 recognition event.

Mary Beth, who works with adolescents at the OCD and Anxiety Center, was nominated by colleague, Molly Wissler because of her commitment to patients, their families, and Rogers teammates.

“She is extremely dedicated to making sure the OAC program (OCD and Anxiety Center) and our residents are successful,” Molly wrote in the nomination form. “This nurse is absolutely a team player, often putting others needs before her own and has been called the ‘mother’ of the unit on many occasions. She is a natural at interacting with parents and has a way of calming them and making them feel that their child is being well cared for. She is the BEST work partner I could ask for!!”

Mary Beth was also nominated by a patient who felt supported while in residential care.

“If it was not for her taking the time to talk with me and help me through a tough time in my life, I would not be where I am today.”

Upon receiving the recognition, Mary Beth thanked her colleagues and said she shares the award with all the nurses at Rogers.

“This award goes to every nurse who’s been through here,” Mary Beth said. “We couldn’t do it without each other. We can do a lot of interesting things with our lives, but to do it with the family of good nurses and good people that you work with makes it really rewarding.”

Mary Beth’s parents were in attendance as she was presented with the “Healer’s Touch” sculpture, a certificate, bouquets of daisies, and the DAISY Award pin. She was also given a box of cinnamon rolls, which are in honor of Patrick Barnes, for whom the DAISY Award was created.

DeAnna Klingbeil, director of residential nursing in Oconomowoc, and Brenda Bundy, executive director of nursing, presented her the award.

Additionally, the DAISY Award banner will be displayed in the lobby of the OCD and Anxiety Center adolescent residential care until the next winner is announced.

Congratulations to all the nominees

A total of 26 nurses from across the System were nominated for this round of the DAISY Award program: 14 from partial hospitalization and intensive outpatient care, two from residential programs, eight from inpatient care, and two from Admissions.

Denay Wood from Los Angeles was awarded second place for a patient nomination.

“Denay truly went above and beyond,” wrote the patient in their nomination. “Some of my fondest memories are of us discussing her colorful croc shoes that were decorated with a myriad of little pins. I know it may seem like a simple and mundane topic, but those kinds of interactions made me feel that she genuinely cared about her patients not just as clients but as people too.”

Erika Miller from Seattle was named the third-place winner for a nomination from a teammate.

“She cares for our patients and staff with equal compassion and authenticity,” wrote the nominator. “Erika brings joy to every situation and is the first to volunteer or identify things that just need getting done. Our team and our patients are endlessly grateful for her support and guidance. We are a better clinic because of her.”

Rogers is among more than 5,000 healthcare organizations and schools of nursing worldwide that are committed to honoring exemplary nurses through the DAISY Award program.

Nurses are nominated by anyone who experiences or observes extraordinary compassionate care: current and former patients, family members, fellow nurses, physicians, clinicians, and other employees.

Winners are selected throughout the year by an internal committee from various disciplines at Rogers. Employee names, locations, and programs are removed from the nomination. The committee is asked to vote for their top five, and a re-vote is taken, if necessary, to narrow down the top three.

The next round of nominations are open now. Nominations forms are available at Rogers locations.

Visit https://www.daisyfoundation.org or watch a video to learn more about the DAISY Award.

Congrats to all the nominees!


Melissa Fosdick, Brown Deer

Mitchell Jessie, Tampa

Sarah Merabet, San Diego

Erika Miller, Seattle

Tanner Carter, Atlanta

Aubrey Redemske, Minneapolis

Kaylee Schleicher, Sheboygan

Sherry Schultz, Philadelphia

Kayla Titus, Sheboygan

Lori Verba, Philadelphia

Amanda Von Feldt, Minneapolis

Maria Wichman, Oconomowoc

Chelsea, Wick, West Allis

Denay Wood, Los Angeles


Mary Beth Alteri, Oconomowoc

Jennifer Petersen, Oconomowoc


Eve Brown, West Allis

Danielle Dauenbaugh, Brown Deer

Abigail Gamsky, Oconomowoc

Erin Gray, Oconomowoc

Barbarah Kibirige, Brown Deer

Sierra Neu, Oconomowoc

Nicole Schimmels, West Allis

Tiffany Wachowiak, Brown Deer


Nicole Garcia, Oconomowoc

Linda Piekarski, West Allis

Posted in

Related articles